Rest, Leslie.

Leslie Nielsen is a symbol.
A symbol of how the world seems to negate talent and surge for the average. Mr. Nielsen had many shortcomings. He admitted later in his life that he was raised in Saskatchewan, trained at a theatre school and put in the work that a young actor needed to put in. 
He wanted to be somebody, he wanted to be recognized and appreciated. He moved to L.A. and did more than fifty television programs, none of which were very memorable. He was a presence on on an earth which just could not recognize his ability, it was a ‘Forbidden’ planet for Leslie. No talent allowed in these parts.
The skies would, later in his life, open up to Leslie through a movie called ‘Airplane.’ It worked, because Leslie was a serious actor in a film that ran awry. But he never stopped being an actor, and never stopped being one of the best. It is because of ‘Airplane’ and his part in being the funniest man in the movie; that we recognize Leslie Nielsen. The seriously funny man.
By seriously funny, I mean that in the most special way. When Leslie was reaching his peak, we had a plethora of untalented wastrels struggling to make themselves famous, before burning out.
Leslie knew better, Leslie had done the work, seen failure and defeat, rose above them and carved his name on comedy’s tree.
Had I continued with my comedy influences postings (which I should really, and will- get back to) Mr. Leslie Nielsen would be there certainly. Whenever Naked Gun is on the television, I must finish it. Sure, the lines were not written by him, but there was only one man- Only one actor – who could deliver those lines as they should have been delivered.

My heart is heavy, and I feel like I have lost a dear friend. It has been a long time since my eyes welled up for a person that I have never met. Surely, you will be remembered.

Thank you, and don’t call me Shirley.

– B. M.

Leave a comment